# New River Community College Board (Region 10) Meeting Number Three Hundred Thirty-Five

### MINUTES

# April 26, 2017

Meeting number three hundred thirty-five of the New River Community College Board was held on Wednesday, April 26, 2017, at the NRV Mall site.

## **BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT**

Dr. Jack Brockway, III (Radford City)

Mr. Steven Harvey (Radford City)

Mr. Walter (Benny) Keister (Pulaski County)

Mr. Brian Kitts (Montgomery County)

Mr. James Loux (Pulaski County)

Dr. Douglas Martin (Giles County)

Mr. Mike Patton (Floyd County)

Mr. Lane Penn (Pulaski County)

Mrs. Barbara A. Straub (Montgomery County)

Dr. Sue Thacker (Montgomery County)

Mrs. Karen Thompson (Floyd County)

## **BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT**

Mr. James Riffe, Jr. (Giles County)

## STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT

Dr. Charlie White, Interim President

Mrs. Kathy T. Ridpath, Administrative Assistant President's Office

## SPECIAL GUEST

Dr. Christopher Lee, VCCS Associate Vice-Chancellor Human Resource Services

# AGENDA ITEMS

## 1. Call to Order

Mr. Steven Harvey, Chair, called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. A quorum was present and due notice had been mailed and published.

### 2. Welcome and Introductions

Mr. Harvey welcomed everyone in attendance.

## Agenda for Approval

The agenda was approved as distributed.

#### 4. Minutes for Approval

The minutes of meeting number three hundred thirty-four, held on Monday, March 6, 2017, were approved as distributed.

#### 5. Closed Session - Personnel

Mr. James Loux made a motion in accordance with Section 2.2-3711 (A) (1) of the Code of Virginia, that the Board convene in closed session. Dr. Sue Thacker seconded the motion. The motion was approved. Mr. Loux cited the motion to go into closed session as follows:

In accordance with Section 2.2-3711 (A) (1) of the Code of Virginia, I move that the board convene in closed session to discuss matters relating to specific officers, appointees or employees of the Board regarding New River Community College's Presidential Search.

The NRCC Board entered into closed session at 6:05 p.m.

Mr. Mike Patton made a motion, seconded by Dr. Doug Martin, to return to open session. The motion was approved at 7:52 p.m. Upon returning to open session Mr. Loux cited the Certification of Closed Session as follows:

The Board of New River Community College has concluded its closed session and is hereby in open session. We will now take a roll call vote that will be included in the minutes certifying that to the best of each member's knowledge, only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements under the Freedom of Information Act and only such public business matters as were identified in the motion by which the closed meeting was convened were heard, discussed, or considered in the meeting by the College Board.

The roll call vote was as follows:

AYES:

Dr. Jack Brockway

Mr. Steve Harvey Mr. Benny Keister

Mr. Brian Kitts

Mr. James Loux

Dr. Doug Martin Mr. Mike Patton

Mr. Lane Penn Mrs. Barbara Straub

Dr. Sue Thacker

Mrs. Karen Thompson

NAYS:

None

Dr. Christopher Lee discussed briefly the Presidential Transition Team. There will be an appointed dean/director to co-chair the team along with board member(s), community leader(s), college administrators, students, faculty, and members of the community. Dr. Lee stated his office will jumpstart the process.

Mr. Harvey expressed his gratitude to the Board for the time and effort each one put in to the presidential selection process. Other members expressed gratitude to Mr. Harvey and Dr. Lee for their diligent work during the process.

The next regular meeting of the New River Community College Board is scheduled for **Monday, June 5, 2017,** at the Mall site. There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 8:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Mr. Steven Harvey, Chair

Dr. Charlie White, Secretary

Attachments