New River Community College Board (Region 10) Meeting Number Three Hundred Thirty-Eight

MINUTES

December 11, 2017

Meeting number three hundred thirty-eight of the New River Community College Board was held on Monday, December 11, 2017, in Edwards Hall on the NRCC campus.

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT

Dr. Jack Brockway (City of Radford)

Mr. Richard Chidester (Giles County) and Mrs. Toni Chidester

Mr. Steven Harvey (City of Radford)

Mr. Steven Kaylor (Floyd County) and Mrs. Nancy Kaylor

Mr. Benny Keister (Pulaski County) and Ms. Harriet Anderson

Mr. Brian Kitts (Montgomery County)

Mr. James Loux (Pulaski County)

Dr. Douglas Martin (Giles County)

Mr. Michael Patton (Floyd County) and Mrs. Janice Yearout-Patton

Mr. Lane Penn (Pulaski County)

Dr. Sharon Scott (Montgomery County)

Dr. Sue Thacker (Montgomery County) and Mr. Bob Thacker

STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT

Ms. Melissa Anderson, Director of Human Resources and Business Operations

Dr. Peter Anderson, Interim Vice President for Instruction and Student Services

Mrs. Debra Bond, Interim Dean of Business and Technologies

Mrs. Amber Clark, Faculty Assembly Chair, and Mr. Brian Clark

Ms. Angela Covey, Executive Director of NRCC Educational Foundation

Dr. Patricia B. Huber, President, and Mr. Peter Huber

Dr. Deborah Kennedy, Dean of Student Services

Mr. Tony Nicolo, Director of Facilities Services, and Mrs. Dana Nicolo

Mrs. Kathy T. Ridpath, Administrative Assistant for the President's Office

Dr. Mark C. Rowh, Vice President for Workforce Development and External Relations

Dr. Janice Shelton, Dean of Arts and Sciences, and Mr. Richard Shelton

Dr. Fritz M. Streff, Director of Institutional Effectiveness and Research, and Mrs. Fran Streff

Mr. John L. Van Hemert, Vice President for Finance and Technology

SPECIAL GUESTS

Mr. Ed Lawhorn - NRCC Educational Foundation Board Chair and Mrs. Karen Lawhorn

Mrs. Betty Gordon - NRCC 2017 Retiree

Dr. Jack Lewis - NRCC 2017 Retiree and Dr. Mary Ann Lewis

Mrs. Shirley Mann - NRCC 2017 Retiree

AGENDA ITEMS

1. Call to Order

Mr. Steven Harvey, Chair, called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm. A quorum was present and due notice had been mailed and published.

2. Welcome and Introductions

Mr. Harvey welcomed the new members of the Board – Mr. Richard Chidester, Mr. Steven Kaylor and Dr. Sharon Scott as well as Mr. Ed Lawhorn, Foundation Board Chair, Mrs. Amber Clark, Faculty Assembly Chair, and everyone else attending.

3. Agenda for Approval

The agenda was approved, by consensus, as distributed.

4. Minutes for Approval

The minutes of meeting number three hundred thirty-seven, held on Monday, September 18, 2017, were approved as distributed.

5. President's Report

Dr. Huber recognized Ms. Covey for receiving the 2017 Regional Leadership Award from the Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce. She thanked the chamber and Dr. Sharon Scott, Executive Director of the Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce and College Board member for recognizing Ms. Covey's contribution. Dr. Huber also recognized Peter Anderson for earning his doctorate recently.

Dr. Huber gave an update on the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) reaffirmation of accreditation process. The college hosted the SACSCOC on-site review team from October 31 – November 2. Prior to coming to the Dublin campus, the team visited high schools in three different jurisdictions as well as the mall site. The team met with administrators, faculty, staff and students during their visit. They held an exit interview with the college's leadership team on November 2. The college received four recommendations. Dr. Huber commented that these recommendations are easily addressed. She stated she sees no barriers that will keep the college from implementing them and achieving full accreditation when the SACSCOC Executive Board meets in June 2018. She stated that the team was very complimentary of the work ethic, dedication and integrity of the faculty and staff. The college will respond to the official visiting team report with a report to SACSCOC by March 2018. She commended all faculty and staff for their diligent work and gave special recognition to Mark Rowh for his work as chair. She expressed gratitude to the Board for their continuing support of NRCC.

6. Enrollment

Dr. Streff reported on enrollment for the fall 2017 semester. At present, the headcount enrollment shows an increase of 2.87 percent, and FTEs show an increase of 2.42 percent over the same time period last fall. After discounting dual enrollment, the FTEs show a decrease of 3.4 percent. The headcount enrollment for the spring 2018 semester shows a decrease of 8.5 percent and a decrease of 13.7 percent in FTEs over this same time period last year. He commented that the college is behind in dual enrollment entries compared to last year. When dual enrollment is discounted, FTEs show a decrease of 3 percent in FTEs.

7. Instruction and Student Services Report

New and Revised Programs

Dr. Anderson reported that the Curriculum and Instruction Committee met earlier in the evening to discuss curricular changes for 2018-2019. He referred to the summary and curriculum track sheets that outline the proposed changes included in the packet that was previously disseminated. On behalf of the committee, Dr. Jack Brockway recommended approval of the changes as presented. The motion carried by unanimous vote. Dr. Brockway commended the college for the work that had gone into this and for all the work being done at NRCC.

8. Finance and Technology Report

Local M&O Budget, 2018-2019

Mr. Van Hemert referred to Exhibit C of the agenda packet, Local M&O Budget for 2018-2019. He informed the Board that the Budget and Finance Committee met earlier in the evening to review the proposed budget and explained that when the participation formula is applied, the amounts requested from the jurisdictions fluctuate with the population in each jurisdiction, the total property values in each jurisdiction, but mostly enrollment of students from each jurisdiction. The total budget request is \$80,156. On behalf of the Budget and Finance Committee, Dr. Doug Martin recommended approval of the Local M&O budget as presented. The motion carried by unanimous vote.

9. Recognitions

2017 Retirees

Six college employees retired in 2017: Mrs. Nancy Evans, Mr. Ernie Garter, Mrs. Betty Gordon, Dr. Jack Lewis, Mrs. Shirley Mann and Mrs. Judy Ratcliff. Mr. Harvey presented resolutions to the attending retirees on behalf of the Board. Each retiree present added personal remarks, and Dr. Huber thanked each for their service. Mrs. Evans was unable to attend so Mrs. Amber Clark accepted the resolution on her behalf. Mr. Garter and Mrs. Ratcliff were also unable to attend; therefore, another appropriate venue for recognition will be used to present their resolutions.

Dr. Huber presented gifts of appreciation to the Board members.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 8:30 p.m. The next regular meeting of the New River Community College Board is scheduled for Monday, March 5, 2018, at NRCC in Dublin.

Respectfully submitted,

Mr. Steven Harvey, Chair

Dr. Patricia B. Huber, Secretary