Exhibit C

New River Community College Board (Region 10) Meeting Number Three Hundred Sixty-Seven

MINUTES

October 7, 2024

Meeting number three hundred sixty-seven of the New River Community College Board was held on Monday, October 7, 2024, at 7:08 p.m. at the Inn at Virginia Tech.

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT

- Mr. Chris Calfee (City of Radford)
- Mr. Craig Chancellor (Floyd County)
- Mr. Bill Cunningham (Pulaski County)
- Dr. Margaret (Peggy) Dewald-Link (Floyd County)
- Dr. Richard (Dick) Harshberger (City of Radford)
- Mr. Eric Johnsen (Montgomery County)
- Ms. Jessica Littlejohn (Montgomery County)
- Mr. Chris McKlarney (Giles County)
- Mr. Cameron Peel (Pulaski County)
- Ms. Bobbie Potter (Montgomery County)
- Mr. Jonathan Sweet (Pulaski County)

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT

Mr. Richard Chidester (Giles County)

STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT

Mrs. Kathy T. Ridpath, Administrative Assistant President's Office

SPECIAL GUESTS PRESENT

Dr. David Doré, VCCS Chancellor

Ms. Malinda Carter, VCCS Vice-Chancellor for Human Resources

AGENDA ITEMS

1. Call to Order

Mr. Bill Cunningham, Chair, called the meeting to order at 7:08 p.m. A quorum was present and due notice had been published.

2. Welcome and Introductions

Mr. Cunningham welcomed Chancellor Doré and Ms. Malinda Carter.

3. Agenda for Approval

Mr. Cunningham asked for a motion to approve the agenda.

Motion: Mr. Eric Johnsen made a motion to approve the agenda. Dr. Peggy Dewald-Link seconded the motion.

Action: The motion was unanimously approved.

4. Closed Session - Personnel

Mr. Jonathan Sweet made a motion in accordance with Section 2.2-3711 (A) (1) of the <u>Code of Virginia</u>, that the Board convene in closed session. Dr. Dick Harshberger seconded the motion. The motion was approved. Mr. Sweet cited the motion to go into closed session as follows:

In accordance with Section 2.2-3711 (A) (1) of the Code of Virginia, I move that the NRCC College Board proceed to closed session for discussions of prospective candidates in the search for the next president of New River Community College.

The motion carried and a roll call vote was taken on the motion as stated.

AYES: Mr. Chris Calfee (City of Radford)

Mr. Craig Chancellor (Floyd County) Mr. Bill Cunningham (Pulaski County)

Dr. Margaret (Peggy) Dewald-Link (Floyd County) Dr. Richard (Dick) Harshberger (City of Radford)

Mr. Eric Johnsen (Montgomery County)
Ms. Jessica Littlejohn (Montgomery County)

Mr. Chris McKlarney (Giles County) Mr. Cameron Peel (Pulaski County) Ms. Bobbie Potter (Montgomery County) Mr. Jonathan Sweet (Pulaski County)

NAYS: None

The NRCC Board entered into closed session at 7:11 p.m.

The NRCC Board reconvened at 9:20 p.m.

Mr. Sweet made a motion, seconded by Mr. Craig Chancellor, to return to open session. The motion was approved at 9:20 p.m. Upon returning to open session, it was stated that:

The Board of New River Community College has concluded its closed session and is hereby in open session. We will now take a roll call vote that will be included in the minutes certifying that to the best of each member's knowledge, only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements under the Freedom of Information Act were discussed, and only such public business matters as were identified in the motion by which the closed meeting was convened were heard, discussed, or considered in the meeting by the College Board.

The roll call vote to certify the statement was as follows:

AYES: Mr. Chris Calfee (City of Radford)

Mr. Craig Chancellor (Floyd County) Mr. Bill Cunningham (Pulaski County)

Dr. Margaret (Peggy) Dewald-Link (Floyd County) Dr. Richard (Dick) Harshberger (City of Radford)

Mr. Eric Johnsen (Montgomery County) Ms. Jessica Littlejohn (Montgomery County)

Mr. Chris McKlarney (Giles County) Mr. Cameron Peel (Pulaski County) Ms. Bobbie Potter (Montgomery County) Mr. Jonathan Sweet (Pulaski County)

NAYS: None

The next regular meeting of the New River Community College Board is scheduled for **Monday**, **December 2**, at NRCC, Dublin. There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 9:25 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

With Comment

Mr. Bill Cunningham, Chair